​​ mdehart.jpg

Mark DeHart, Ph.D. (Team Lead)
Is a senior reactor physicist at INL, leading R&D and analysis supporting Transient Reactor Test Facility (TREAT) and Advanced Test Reactor (ATR) missions. He holds Bachelor's, Master's and PhD degrees in Nuclear Engineering from Texas A&M University, is the immediate past chair of the Idaho Section of ANS, and was recently elected Fellow of the American Nuclear Society. He joined INL in 2010 after 17 years at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, where he worked in both methods and analysis related to criticality safety, burnup credit, data validation, and reactor physics. He is the primary author of the NEWT lattice physics code and the TRITON depletion sequence within the SCALE code system, and led development of modern lattice physics methods at ORNL. He is currently the Deputy Director for Reactor Physics Modeling and Simulation in the INL Nuclear Science and Technology Directorate. Dr. DeHart is also the PI and project manager for development of advanced modeling and simulation capabilities to support restart and operation of TREAT, under the DOE/NE Advanced Modeling and Simulation program (NEAMS). Dr. DeHart is a member of the OECD/NEA Working Party for Scientific Issues of Reactor Safety as one of its two US delegates and is a Task Leader within the OECD/NEA Expert Group on Multi-Physics for Experimental Data, Benchmarks and Validation (EGMPEBV). He is chair of the ANS 19.5 Standards Committee on Requirements for Reference Reactor Physics Measurements.


Vincent Laboure, Ph.D. (Developer and Analyst)
Vincent has been a Postdoctoral Computational Nuclear Engineering Research Associate with Idaho National Laboratory (INL) since October 2016. He is involved as a developer of Rattlesnake, the transport solver at the INL based on the Multiphysics Object-Oriented Simulation Environment (MOOSE) framework. He has a Master's degree in General Engineering from Mines Paristech in Paris, France, and a Ph.D. in Nuclear Engineering from Texas A&M University. Long term, his interests are directed toward multiphysics computational research addressing critical energy issues, including neutronics, thermo-hydraulics and energy storage.


Sebastian Schunert, Ph.D.  (Developer)
Began his academic studies in mechanical engineering at the University of Braunschweig, Germany, graduating with a master's degree in 2009. He switched his focus to numerical radiation transport and reactor physics when continuing his education at the North Carolina State University and received his PhD in 2013 on spatial discretization methods of the first order SN equations. He has joined the Rattlesnake/MAMMOTH team in spring 2014 as post-doctoral researcher and switched to becoming a permanent staff member in spring of 2015 mostly focusing on method's development and implementation in the Rattlesnake and MAMMOTH codes.


Yaqi Wang, Ph.D. (Developer)
Obtained a Bachelor's degree in Nuclear Engineering in 1996 from Tsinghua University, China. He worked as a research scientist for INET (Institute of Nuclear and New Energy Technology) for 8 years before he joined the Texas A&M University in 2004. He developed an on-line core monitoring system for the heating reactor by using ex-core ion-chambers supported by the National Science Foundation of China at INET. He obtained a Master's degree in Nuclear Engineering from Texas A&M University in 2006 by developing hp-mesh adaptation for 1-D multigroup neutron diffusion problems. Dr. Wang earned his PhD in Nuclear Engineering from Texas A&M University by developing Adaptive Mesh Refinement (AMR) solution techniques for the multi-group Sn transport equation using a higher-order discontinuous Finite Element Method (FEM). He has been engaged in the development of advanced modeling and simulation techniques, specifically, a transport solver INSTANT, based on a hybrid FEM and PN method, for the LDRD titled by "Development of Reactor Physics Sensitivity Analysis, Uncertainty Quantification, and Data Assimilation Capability at INL for validation Applications" (PHISICS) at the INL since 2009. In 2010, Dr. Wang turned to the development of a new transport scheme based on the Self-Adjoint Angular Flux (SAAF) formulation and a continuous FEM, aiming at tightly-coupled multiphysics simulations. This development has resulted into a new MOOSE-based application, Rattlesnake.